Michigan Ross and University Regents Recognize Outstanding Faculty


A number of Michigan Ross faculty members have been recognized and honored for their excellence in teaching, research, and service both by the school and the university’s Board of Regents. Ross also gained another distinguished university professor.

On May 19 the regents approved promotions for six Ross faculty. Damian Beil, Jeffrey Sanchez-Burks, and David Wooten were promoted to the rank of professor. Felipe Csaszar, Scott Rick, and Chris Williams were promoted to associate professor, with tenure.

In addition, Wally Hopp was appointed the C.K. Prahalad Distinguished University Professor of Business and Engineering. This honor is for U-M’s elite faculty, and Hopp joins Jane Dutton as one of two distinguished university professors currently at Ross.

Michigan Ross faculty also recently honored their own with the annual faculty awards and the Neary Teaching Excellence Award. And they celebrated the careers of two retiring professors — Tom Schriber, who was with Ross for 50 years, and longtime accounting lecturer Karen Bird.

Winners of the 2016 Ross Faculty Awards are:

Junior Awards

Martin Schmalz: NBD Bancorp Assistant Professorship of Business Administration

Kyle Handley: Sanford Robertson Professorship

Stefanus Jasin: Arnold and Linda T. Jacob Faculty Award


Senior Awards

Wally Hopp: CORE award

Gretchen Spreitzer: RSB Researcher of the Year Award

Jerry Davis: RSB Senior Faculty Research Award (pictured above at #ROSSTALKS Detroit)

Greg Miller: Victor L. Bernard Faculty Award for Leadership in Teaching

Valerie Suslow: Andy Andrews Award

Neary Teaching Excellence Awards

Ryan Ball: Full-Time MBA Teaching Excellence Award

Izak Duenyas: Executive MBA Teaching Excellence Award

Aneel Karnani: Weekend MBA Teaching Excellence Award

Brad Killaly: BBA Teaching Excellence Award

Jim DeSimpelare: MAcc Teaching Excellence Award

Bill Lanen: Global MBA Teaching Excellence Award

Martin Schmalz: Evening MBA Teaching Excellence Award

Ari Shwayder: MM Teaching Excellence Award

Carolyn Yoon: PhD Teaching Excellence Award

Executive Education

Kim Cameron: Executive Education Teaching Impact – Custom Programs Award

Gretchen Spreitzer: Executive Education Teaching Impact – Open Enrollment Programs Award

Edit - June 28, 2016: Updated MAcc Teaching Excellence Award to accurately reflect the 2016 winner.

Connect with Michigan Ross        
Ross School of Business