Several Ross Faculty Honored with Prestigious Awards and Appointments


Michigan Ross faculty have recently won a number of awards and been appointed to several prestigious roles.

Kyle Handley was elected to the Conference on Research in Income and Wealth. The CRIW was founded to support the development of the U.S. national accounts and has been active since then on issues of economic measurement. Conference proceedings are generally published in the National Bureau of Economic Research series Studies in Income and Wealth.

Andy Hoffman received a 2016 Best SO!apbox Essay Award from the journal Strategic Organization (SO!). His essay, “The Culture and Discourse of Climate Skepticism,” was judged as one of the most outstanding published in SO! five years earlier.

Tom Kinnear (pictured above) is the winner of the 2016 William L. Wilkie Award, awarded by the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF). The award honors marketing thinkers who have significantly contributed to our understanding and appreciation for marketing’s potential to improve our world.

“Tom is an exemplary winner of this award. His career accomplishments reflect his appreciation for the positive roles of marketing for firms, as well as its strong broader impacts. Of special note, his vision in founding the Journal of Public Policy & Marketing has provided the much needed venue (nearing 700 articles and climbing) that’s both stimulated and preserved scholarship on marketing and society through the past 34 years,” says William L. Wilkie, the Nathe Professor of Marketing at the Mendoza College of Business, University of Notre Dame. “Congratulations to this fine marketing scholar.”

Francine Lafontaine has been elected second vice president of the Society for Institutional and Organizational Economics. The SIOE promotes rigorous theoretical and empirical investigation of the nature, behavior, and governance of organizations and institutions using approaches drawn from economics, organization theory, law, political science, and other social sciences.

Fiona Lee was one of six U-M faculty honored with an Arthur F. Thurnau professorship. The Thurnau professorships honor faculty who show a strong commitment to teaching and learning, innovation, working with a diverse student body, as well as contributions to undergraduate education beyond the classroom, studio, or lab.

Nigel Melville received a 2015 Best Information Systems (IS) Publications Award from the Association for Information Systems for his paper “How Posture-Profile Misalignment in IT Innovation Diminishes Returns: Conceptual Development and Empirical Demonstration.”

Cathy Shakespeare was appointed to serve on the Financial Accounting Standards Advisory Council (FASAC). She will be part of the council’s academic community arm, helping to advise the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) on strategic issues, project priorities, and other matters regarding accounting standard setting.

To learn more about Ross faculty and their world-class research, subscribe to Ross Thought In Action.


Connect with Michigan Ross        
Ross School of Business