Exemplary Ross Faculty Recognized with Accolades, Awards, New Appointments


Each spring, Michigan Ross honors its faculty for outstanding teaching, research, and service, celebrating the school’s vibrant intellectual capital. The Ross Faculty Awards and Neary Teaching Excellence Awards recognize those who go above and beyond in educating students, performing important research, and contributing to the evolution of business education.

Winners of the 2015 Ross Faculty awards are:

Dana Muir ﹘ Victor L. Bernard Teaching Leadership Award

Izak Duenyas ﹘ Executive Education Teaching Impact Custom Programs

John Branch ﹘ Executive Education Teaching Impact Open Enrollment Programs

Leigh Tost ﹘ NBD Bancorp Assistant Professorship of Business Administration Award

Kanishka Misra ﹘ Sanford R. Robertson Assistant Professorship of Business Administration Award

Christopher Williams ﹘ Arnold M. & Linda T. Jacob Faculty Development Award

Ravi Anupindi ﹘ CORE Award

Aradhna Krishna ﹘ Researcher of the Year

The Neary Teaching Excellence Award winners are:

Gautam Ahuja ﹘ Executive MBA Teaching Excellence Award

John Branch ﹘ Weekend MBA Teaching Excellence Award

Aneel Karnani ﹘ Full-Time MBA Teaching Excellence Award

Brad Killaly ﹘ BBA and MM Teaching Excellence Award

Charles Klemstine ﹘ MAcc Teaching Excellence Award

Priscilla Rogers ﹘ Global MBA Teaching Excellence Award

Eric Svaan ﹘ Evening MBA Teaching Excellence Award

Brian Wu ﹘ PhD Teaching Excellence Award

Our faculty also continue to be recognized by other organizations for excellence in research and teaching:

  • Gretchen Spreitzer and Bob Quinn won the 2015 IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award in the education category for their book, The Best Teacher in You.
  • Kyle Handley was named a recipient of the Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research. He will receive a $35,000 grant and will be honored during the Academy of Management’s annual meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, Aug. 7-11.
  • Paolo Pasquariello recently won two prestigious awards: His paper, “Financial Market Dislocations,” won the Review of Financial Studies Best Paper Runner-Up Award; and he received the Referee of the Year Award from the Review of Financial Studies.
  • Damian Beil was named one of Poets & Quants’ 40 Under 40 (an award that recognizes outstanding teachers of full-time MBA students).

Ross also has a number of faculty taking on new leadership roles this year. These appointments are effective July 1:

  • Hyun-soo Ahn will become Faculty Director of the Master of Supply Chain Management Program. He succeeds Ravi Anupindi, a key founder of the program who led it for seven years.
  • Izak Duenyas will become Faculty Director of the Executive MBA program, succeeding M.P. Narayanan, who led it for three years. Izak is taking on this role after stepping down as Faculty co-Director of the Tauber Institute for Global Operations.
  • Amitabh Sinha will succeed Duenyas at Tauber as Faculty co-Director.
  • Jeffrey Sanchez-Burks will become Faculty Director of the Office of Action Based Learning after stepping down as Faculty Director of the EMBA Leadership Development Program.
Connect with Michigan Ross        

Subscribe to FTMBA Email Alerts


By submitting your information, you agree to receive email from Michigan Ross. Your information will be kept confidential and you can unsubscribe at any time.