David Carson: Winner of the 2016 Bert F. Wertman Alumni Service Award

David Carson created the Carson Scholars program, which has been consistently listed as one of the top programs by Michigan Ross students. For 10 years, David and Sara Carson have provided Ross students with an unparalleled opportunity to explore the relationship between business and government in Washington, D.C. This weeklong, action-based learning experience has now shaped more than 600 students’ lives.  Not only has he contributed funding for this, but he has participated in the opening of the program in Washington, D.C., each year for the last 10 years. He has served as an advisor to faculty member George Seidel since the inception of the program, and continues to serve in that capacity. He has been involved in advising regarding the direction of the program for the future, and how it might be something that lives long after him.

Carson, the retired CEO of People’s Bank, received his BBA from Michigan Ross in 1955. After 45 years in active management in various financial institutions, he is now a community consultant and entrepreneur. Carson has served as senior vice president and actuary at Hartford Insurance Group. He joined People’s Bank in Bridgeport, Conn., as its president and was later named CEO. He continued as CEO until January 2000. Carson has served in volunteer capacity as chair of organizations such as the Connecticut Business and Industry Association, Connecticut Public Broadcasting, America's Community Bankers, Business Advisory Board of the Connecticut Commission on Children, and as vice chair of the Tri State United Way. He has testified before state and national legislative bodies on subjects ranging from automobile insurance rates to violence against children. He was a leader in gaining state funding in Connecticut for preschool education. Forbes magazine named Carson as one of the 500 “most powerful people” in corporate America.

About the Award

Established in 1989, this award recognizes an alumnus or alumna of the business school for outstanding service to the school and/or to the university. The award was established in honor of Bert F. Wertman, who served for more than 60 years as president of the Class of 1928. Through his leadership and caring, the class remained a cohesive and vital group and held a record number of continuous reunions.

Previous Award Winners

2015 David Parent MBA 1995

2014 Michael & Nancy McLelland MBA 1979, BS 1975 & MBA 1979

2013 Jeffrey Gelfand BBA 1988

2012 Yehuda Cohen MBA 1983 

2011 Ralph Johnson MBA 1992

2010 Elizabeth D. Black MBA 1987

2009 Philippe Prufer MBA 1988

2008 John C. Morley MBA 1958

2007 Daniel Hennessey MBA 1981

2006 William Hall MBA 1967, PhD 1969

2005 Tom Jones BBA 1968, MBA 1971

2004 Cecil Shepherd MBA 2000

2003 Roslyn Braeman Payne BBA 1968

2002 Michael R. Hallman BBA 1966, MBA 1967

2001 Thomas Porter MBA 1967

2001 Mary Campbell MBA 1979

2000 Richard H. Rogel BBA 1970

1999 Eva Chang MBA 1993

1998 Bonnie R. Proctor AB 1970, MBA 1974

1997 Bruce L. Cook BBA 1950, MBA 1951

1996 John F. McCarthy ABED 1949, MBA 1951

1995 Frank T. Westover BBA 1961, MBA 1962

1994 No Award Given

1993 Sharon Reed Walker BBA 1974, MBA 1981

1992 William T. Dobson AB 1942, MBA 1948

1991 Gary T. Walther BSE 1960, MBA 1963

1990 Wilbur K. Pierpont MBA 1938, PhD 1942

1989 John R. Edman BBA 1950, MBA 1951